Toowoomba Short Circuit Motor Sport powers on with grant

Toowoomba’s Short Circuit Motor Sport Association which jumpstarted the career of world Indy car champion driver Will Power has received a grant to help further the club. 

President Derek Pingel said the $28,300 Gambling Community Benefit Fund grant was being used to purchase a purpose-built trailer for race meets. 

Mr Pingel said their club had been running for 41 years and had a proud list of member who went on to become champions.

“Will Power (Indy Car Champion and Indy 500 Winner), Ben Gersekowski (driving for Lamborghini on the European tour) and Brendon Pingel (Aussie Racing Car Champion) all started driving with the club when they were 14 (16 for Will),” Mr Pingel said. 

“Our mission is to give young drivers a platform to come and develop their driving skills before they get near a public road,” he said. 

Member for Toowoomba South David Janetzki MP congratulated Short Circuit on their successful grant.

“Toowoomba has a world class pedigree of producing outstanding drivers,” Mr Janetzki said.

“This grant will help in a small way towards continuing that tradition,” he said. 

Mr Pingel said the trailer was due to be finished at the end of February and would be used to house all the club’s equipment, technology, track gear, promotional gear, radios and fire extinguishers.

“It will be a one stop shop with everything we need to run a race meeting and promote junior driving and junior motorsport,” he said. 

“It will also serve as an administration trailer.” 

Mr Pingel has been president of the association for 16 years. He held the title of the Australian Formula 4000 racing champion in 2006. Aussie Racing Car Champion Brendan Pingel is his son. 

Mr Pingel said he was very proud of their family-friendly club which also produces safer drivers.

“Statistics have shown there is a much lower on-road accident rate for club drivers than people who haven’t gone through these sorts of driver programs,” he said.

Image Caption: (from left) David Janetzki MP with Toowoomba Short Circuit Motor Sport president Derek Pingel, secretary Fred Berge and treasurer Pat Murray.